Kotka Maritime Research Centre is run and coordinated by an independent research association, called Kotka Maritime Research Association (KMRA). Association is managed by executive director Anna Kiiski.

Research activities

The research centre’s activities are based on collaboration between four universities. A research management group consisting of centre’s executive director and research director, professors and research managers guides all research activities.

Annukka Lehikoinen Research Director +358 50 5519 288

Tommi Inkinen Professor University of Turku
Pentti Kujala Professor Aalto University
Justiina Halonen (leave of absence) Research manager South-Eastern Finland University of Applied Sciences

Anna Kiiski Executive director +358 40 7524 392

Sakari Kuikka Professor University of Helsinki
Osiris Valdez Banda Associate professor Aalto University
Olli-Pekka Brunila Research manager South-Eastern Finland University of Applied Sciences


The association’s board is responsible for managing KMRA. The association’s annual general meeting elects the board and the chairman of the board for two years at a time.

The research association has thirteen members:


  • Aalto University
  • City of Kotka
  • Cursor Oy
  • Etelä-Kymenlaakso Vocational College
  • Finnish Environment Institute
  • Finnish Transport and Communications Agency Traficom
  • Finnish Transport Infrastructure Agency
  • Kotka Maretarium Oy
  • Metsähallitus
  • Natural Resources Institute Finland
  • South-Eastern Finland University of Applied Sciences
  • University of Helsinki
  • University of Turku

Board 2021

Chairman of the board: Anna-Maria Länsimies

  • Aalto University: Jouni Partanen (Jani Romanoff)
  • Etelä-Kymenlaakso Vocational College: Sami Tikkanen (Kimmo Kallioniemi)
  • University of Helsinki: Kai Kokko (Sirkku Manninen)
  • City of Kotka: Anna-Maria Länsimies (Terhi Lindholm)
  • Natural Resources Institute Finland: Riikka Venesjärvi (Meri Kallasvuo)
  • University of Turku: Petteri Alho (Anne Erkkilä-Välimäki) 
  • South-Eastern Finland University of Applied Sciences: Ville Henttu (Noora Talsi)
  • Cursor Oy: Carina Pulkkinen (David Lindström)