Kotka Maritime Research Centre specialises in the interdisciplinary approach to maritime transport and logistics, taking into account a wide range of safety, environmental and economical aspects. The common vision of the research community operating under the Centre, representing leading Finnish universities and research institutes, is to promote the overall sustainable development of the maritime sector and research in the field in Finland. Research is problem-based, so it seeks to find scientifically validated answers and solutions to current questions and problems, and to assess their practical impact and feasibility in today’s and future society and ecosystems.

The core of the research network of the Centre is the professorships of Aalto University, the University of Turku and the University of Helsinki with their research groups, together with the maritime RDI unit of the South-Eastern Finland  University of Applied Sciences.

Kotka Maritime Research Association is responsible for coordinating and administering the co-operation. Members of the Association are Aalto University, City of Kotka, Cursor Oy, Etelä-Kymenlaakso Vocational College, Finnish Environment Institute, Finnish Transport and Communications Agency Traficom, Finnish Transport Infrastructure Agency, Kotka Maretarium Oy, Metsähallitus,  Natural Resources Institute Finland, South-Eastern Finland University of Applied Sciences, University of Helsinki and University of Turku.

The Kotka Maritime Research Centre is led by a management team consisting of the Executive Director Anna Kiiski, the Research Director Annukka Lehikoinen, four professors and two research managers. The research groups and administrative staff belonging to the community form a community of 34 employees, some of whom work in the premises of the Research Center and the University of Applied Sciences in Kotka, and some in the premises of the universities in Turku, Espoo and Helsinki.

Kotka Maritime Research Association Board 2021

Chairman of the board: Anna-Maria Länsimies

Aalto University: Jouni Partanen (Jani Romanoff)
Etelä-Kymenlaakso Vocational College: Sami Tikkanen (Kimmo Kallioniemi)
University of Helsinki: Kai Kokko (Sirkku Manninen)
City of Kotka: Anna-Maria Länsimies (Terhi Lindholm)
Natural Resources Institute Finland: Riikka Venesjärvi (Meri Kallasvuo)
University of Turku: Petteri Alho (Anne Erkkilä-Välimäki)
South-Eastern Finland University of Applied Sciences: Ville Henttu (Noora Talsi)
Cursor Oy: Carina Pulkkinen (David Lindström)